Wyre Forest Young Musician of the Year Competition

The annual Wyre Forest Young Musician of the Year competition has been held in January or February every year since 2015.

The competition is open to young people aged between 13 and 18 who either live in the district of Wyre Forest or attend school in the area.

There are four categories and three additional prizes, all generously donated by the Helen Mackaness Trust:

  • Classical Music Section (Instrumentalists and Singers)
  • Solo Instrumentalist
  • Solo Singer (accompanied or unaccompanied)
  • Group (two or more members, acoustic or amplified)
  • The Wyre Forest Young Musician Of The Year
  • The Bewdley Festival prize for best original composition
  • The Best Young Musician aged 14 or under

The winners of the overall Wyre Forest Young Musicians of the Year for each of the years are:

  • 2015 – Hannah Law, Stourport High School
  • 2016 – Ellisha Green, King Charles II School, Kidderminster
  • 2017 – Mayfli (Anna Bale and Izzy O’Dowd), Bewdley
  • 2018 – Rachel Howles and Danny Bold, Bewdley
  • 2019 – Molly Hipkins, Bewdley
  • 2020 – Megan Lane, Bewdley

Here’s Rachel and Danny with the winning performance in 2018: